Toddler Time

Date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Feb 13 2016 .
Thu, 01/07/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 01/14/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 01/21/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 01/28/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 02/04/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 02/11/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a simple craft for children ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Please call to register your child at 683-9457.

Wed. Story Time for 3-5 year olds

Date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Feb 13 2016 .
Wed, 01/06/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 01/13/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 01/20/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 01/27/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 02/03/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 02/10/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a craft for children ages 3 through 5 years.  Registration is required; call us at 683-9457. 

Tues. Story Time for 3-5 year olds

Date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Feb 13 2016 .
Tue, 01/05/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 01/12/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 01/19/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 01/26/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 02/02/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 02/09/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a craft for children ages 3 through 5 years.  Registration is required; call us at 683-9457. 

Ooey Gooey Toothpick Treasures

Date: 
Wed, 12/30/2015 - 10:00am - 2:00pm

Drop in over vacation to build with toothpicks, marshmallows, and gum drops.  It's fun and it's free!  From 10 to 2 in the Children's Room.

Library is Closed

Date: 
Fri, 12/25/2015 - 9:00am - 5:00pm

Genealogy for Beginners with Helen Smith

Date: 
Sun, 01/10/2016 - 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Helen Smith, RI Genealogical Society events coordinator and frequent speaker, will help beginning genealogists get past what to do after you get the birth, marriage, death dates.

This program is free and open to the public but seating is limited.  Please stop by or call the Library at 683-9457 to reserve your seat.

Library is Closed

Date: 
Sun, 12/27/2015 - 1:00pm - 5:00pm


Library is Closed

Date: 
Thu, 12/24/2015 - 9:00am - 8:00pm


Ecological Landscape Design

Date: 
Thu, 04/21/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Learn about ecological landscape design from Sanne Kure-Jensen.  Gardeners will learn about designing landscapes with habitat and food for wildlife. By using native and ornamental plants with low input needs, gardeners can reduce garden toxins, maintenance needs and costs.

In this workshop, Sanne Kure-Jensen will discuss Sarah Stein’s inspirational book “Noah's Garden: Restoring the Ecology of Our Own Backyards” and the National Wildlife Federation (NWF) Certified Backyard program.

Backyard Composting

Date: 
Thu, 01/21/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Learn composting basics from Sanne Kure-Jensen, Portsmouth’s Recycling Coordinator. Reduce your household waste and create “Gardener’s Gold," a great source of garden fertility. Hear how composting works and discover worm composting (vermiculture).  Learn the benefits of using compost bins or piles and "hot" versus slow composting.

Compost bins will be available for purchase.