Cooking with Alex

Date: 
Tue, 05/24/2016 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Join us for a cooking lesson with Chef Alexandra Day as she whips up some seasonal goodies.  Summer is coming and it's time to think about fresh salads and savory sauces. 

This program is open to the public over the age of 21. A materials fee of $10 will be collected the night of the program. Please stop by or call the library at 683-9457 to sign up.

Toddler Time

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri May 27 2016 .
Thu, 05/05/2016 - 10:00am - 10:30am
Thu, 05/12/2016 - 10:00am - 10:30am
Thu, 05/19/2016 - 10:00am - 10:30am
Thu, 05/26/2016 - 10:00am - 10:30am

Stories, songs, and a simple craft for children ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Please call to register your child at 683-9457.

Wed. Story Time for 3-5 yrs.

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri May 27 2016 .
Wed, 05/04/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 05/11/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 05/18/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Wed, 05/25/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a craft for children ages 3 through 5 years.  Please register in the Children's Room or by calling us at 683-9457.

Tues. Story Time for 3-5 yrs.

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri May 27 2016 .
Tue, 05/03/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 05/10/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 05/17/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Tue, 05/24/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a craft for children ages 3 through 5 years.  Please register in the Children's Room or by calling us at 683-9457.

The Last Civil War Veterans with Frank L. Grzyb

Date: 
Thu, 05/12/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Frank L. Grzyb, author of a new book, The Last Civil War Veterans: the Lives of the Final Survivors, State by State, will speak about his research into the lives of these veterans.  He is the author of six previous books and has contributed numerous articles to newspapers and magazines about America's Civil War. He is a member of the Rhode Island Civil War Round Table and lives in Rhode Island.

Barton's Raid with Christian McBurney

Date: 
Tue, 08/09/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

The focus of author Christian McBurney's talk is a raid that took place in Portsmouth in 1777.  A young Rhode Island militia officer named William Barton and a small raiding party slipped past British soldiers on the Portsmouth shore and kidnapped General Richard Prescott at his home.  The kidnappers risked all—if caught, they could be hanged. This is just one of several attempted and successful abductions of military and civilian leaders from 1775 to 1783 covered in McBurney's new book, Abductions in the American Revolution.

Meet the Chicks!

Date: 
Wed, 04/20/2016 - 10:00am - 11:00am

Casey Farm will be here with a live Dominque Chicken and newly hatched chicks.  This is a one-hour educational program with time at the end for meeting and holding the chickens.  Children need to sit calmly and quietly for an hour for this program, but all ages are welcome.  Register at the Children's Room desk or call us at 683-9457.

Drop In for Spring Crafts

Date: 
Tue, 04/19/2016 - 10:00am - 12:00pm

Drop in Spring Craft.  While supplies last.  No registration required.

Spring Story Time

Date: 
Thu, 04/21/2016 - 10:00am - 10:30am

Spring Story Time for children ages 2 and up.  

Newport Children's Theatre

Date: 
Sat, 04/30/2016 - 11:00am - 12:00pm

Newport Children's Theatre presents: The Insulting Princess.  A one hour play presented by kids, for kids!  Free and open to the public.  No registration required.  For more information, call us at 683-9457.