Book Discussion

Date: 
Tue, 03/29/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Join us as we discuss The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley.  This 2014 Printz Honor Winner is described as "an evocative ode to the Smells Like Teen Spirit Generation and a heartfelt exploration of tragedy, first love, and the transformative power of music." (publisher)

Books are available at the circulation desk to borrow.

Computer Class

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Mar 31 2016 .
Thu, 03/03/2016 - 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Thu, 03/10/2016 - 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Thu, 03/17/2016 - 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Thu, 03/24/2016 - 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Thu, 03/31/2016 - 1:30pm - 3:30pm

Learn at your own pace!  Get your 21st century skills at the library!

Teen Writing Group

Date: 
Wed, 03/23/2016 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Work on your creative writing skills.  For grades 6-12.

Science Saturday

Date: 
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Make and race your very own balloon car.  Registration is required for this free program for grades 6-12.  Stop by or call the library at 683-9457.

Teen Writing Group

Date: 
Wed, 03/09/2016 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm

We will be working on writing skills through group story telling, a fun activity that could create laughs among the entire group! Grades 6-12 are welcome to participate and snacks and beverages will be provided. No registration is required for this free program.

Paracord Survival Bracelets

Date: 
Tue, 03/08/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Create a survival bracelet with paracord.  Free and open to all tweens and teens in grades 5-8.  Register at 683-9457.  This is the third event in our Tween Maker series.

Fused Glass for Tweens & Teens

Date: 
Tue, 04/12/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

For the last of our Tween Maker Series, we will have artist Deenie Pacik here to walk us through the process of Fused Glass.  Registration is required for this very special Tween/Teen Event.  Call us at 683-9457 to sign up.  Free and open to students in grades 4 and up.

Toddler Time

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Apr 15 2016 except Thu Mar 24 2016.
Thu, 02/25/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/03/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/10/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/17/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/31/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 04/07/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 04/14/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a simple craft for children ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Please call to register your child at 683-9457.

Tapped

Date: 
Tue, 03/08/2016 - 6:00pm - 7:45pm

As part of its month considering environmental water issues, the Portsmouth Garden Club will show a film at Portsmouth Free Public Library concerning global water concerns.

Makerspace Open Session

Date: 
Sat, 02/27/2016 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn what you need to do to create your own object on our 3D printer or create your own stickers or t-shirt decals.  Come and work on your own project or bring your file and print.  Fees apply for materials.  No registration is required.