Science Saturday

Date: 
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Make and race your very own balloon car.  Registration is required for this free program for grades 6-12.  Stop by or call the library at 683-9457.

Teen Writing Group

Date: 
Wed, 03/09/2016 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm

We will be working on writing skills through group story telling, a fun activity that could create laughs among the entire group! Grades 6-12 are welcome to participate and snacks and beverages will be provided. No registration is required for this free program.

Paracord Survival Bracelets

Date: 
Tue, 03/08/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Create a survival bracelet with paracord.  Free and open to all tweens and teens in grades 5-8.  Register at 683-9457.  This is the third event in our Tween Maker series.

Fused Glass for Tweens & Teens

Date: 
Tue, 04/12/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

For the last of our Tween Maker Series, we will have artist Deenie Pacik here to walk us through the process of Fused Glass.  Registration is required for this very special Tween/Teen Event.  Call us at 683-9457 to sign up.  Free and open to students in grades 4 and up.

Toddler Time

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Apr 15 2016 except Thu Mar 24 2016.
Thu, 02/25/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/03/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/10/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/17/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 03/31/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 04/07/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am
Thu, 04/14/2016 - 10:00am - 10:45am

Stories, songs, and a simple craft for children ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Please call to register your child at 683-9457.

Tapped

Date: 
Tue, 03/08/2016 - 6:00pm - 7:45pm

As part of its month considering environmental water issues, the Portsmouth Garden Club will show a film at Portsmouth Free Public Library concerning global water concerns.

Makerspace Open Session

Date: 
Sat, 02/27/2016 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn what you need to do to create your own object on our 3D printer or create your own stickers or t-shirt decals.  Come and work on your own project or bring your file and print.  Fees apply for materials.  No registration is required.

Teen Writing Group

Date: 
Wed, 02/24/2016 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Try your hand at Blackout Poetry. Grades 6 - 12 are welcome.  All materials will be provided for this free program!  No registration is required.

Book Discussion

Date: 
Tue, 02/23/2016 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Join us as we discuss We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach.   What would you do if an asteroid was on it's way towards earth?  That is the question for four teens in this debut novel.  Books are available to borrow at the library.  No registration required.

Science Saturday

Date: 
Sat, 02/13/2016 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

We'll look at sourness, sweetness and explosions using candy.  For grades 6th - 12th.  Pre-registration is required. Call the library at 683-9457 or stop by to sign up or for more information.  This program is free and open to the public.