2658 East Main Road | Portsmouth, RI | 02871 | (401) 683-9457 | Hours

all Databases

Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Automotive, Biography, Business, Careers, Childrens, Education, Encyclopedias, Environment, Genealogy, Health, History, Languages, Literature, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

AtoZdatabases is the premier reference and marketing database marketed to Library, Academic, and Government institutions throughout the U.S. This simple, user-friendly, web-based solution provides details on every business and every household within the U.S.

Business

AutoMate is a reference database that provides accurate, authoritative and up-to-date auto service and repair information on cars built in 1985 or later. AutoMate features content from the original equipment manufacturers, including step-by-step repair procedures with supporting images, maintenance schedules, and diagnostic trouble codes so users can accurately diagnose, repair and maintain their vehicle.

Automotive

Biography Reference Bank is an essential full-text database for biographical research in any discipline, such as women’s studies, cultural studies, media studies and more.

Biography, Students

Biography Reference Bank is an essential full-text database for biographical research in any discipline, such as women’s studies, cultural studies, media studies and more.

Biography, Students

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. 

Biography, History, Students

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. 

Biography, History, Students

A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. 

Biography, History, Students

Access easy-to-understand consumer health and medical information. Provides basic medical definitions and basic overviews of health-related topics.

Health, Students

Access easy-to-understand consumer health and medical information. Provides basic medical definitions and basic overviews of health-related topics.

Health, Students

Search the list of publications (top menu bar) to see Consumer Reports.  

Magazines-Newspapers

Free sample tests plus hints on what you need to know to be confident when you go to take your test.

Automotive, Education, Students

Free sample tests plus hints on what you need to know to be confident when you go to take your test.

Automotive, Education, Students

Free sample tests plus hints on what you need to know to be confident when you go to take your test.

Automotive, Education, Students

A single search box for direct access to full-text content available through AskRI EBSCO databases.

Students

Magazine, newspaper and professional journal articles, general reference books, primary source documents, and more. 
Includes Consumer Reports.

Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Magazine, newspaper and professional journal articles, general reference books, primary source documents, and more. 
Includes Consumer Reports.

Magazines-Newspapers, Students

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Education, Students

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Education, Students

EBSCO’s research database for students K-5 is the replacement for Searchasaurus and Kids Search and features colorful pictures and school subject categories for easy browsing.

Childrens, Students

EBSCO’s research database for students K-5 is the replacement for Searchasaurus and Kids Search and features colorful pictures and school subject categories for easy browsing.

Childrens, Students
Explora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use interface and updated functionality like the cite button.
Education, Encyclopedias, Students
Explora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use interface and updated functionality like the cite button.
Education, Encyclopedias, Students
Explora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use interface and updated functionality like the cite button.
Education, Encyclopedias, Students

Read your favorite magazine.  Gardening, sports, fashion, business, news, and much more!  

Magazines-Newspapers

Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia, with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations and maps. Updated annually.

Encyclopedias, Students

Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia, with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations and maps. Updated annually.

Encyclopedias, Students

Fifteen reference e-books covering topics including film, literature, law, and medicine.  Always available!

Encyclopedias, Students

Fifteen reference e-books covering topics including film, literature, law, and medicine.  Always available!

Encyclopedias, Students

Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Environment, Students

Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Environment, Students

Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Biography, History, Students

Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Biography, History, Students

Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, and more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures.

Biography, History, Students

Learning Express Library offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Careers, Education, Students

Learning Express Library offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Careers, Education, Students

Learning Express Library offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Careers, Education, Students

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings.

Students

Comprehensive literary database, with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs.

Biography, Literature, Students

Comprehensive literary database, with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs.

Biography, Literature, Students

Comprehensive literary database, with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs.

Biography, Literature, Students

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. If this is your first time, click on "sign up" under the Log In area to create your account, or continue as a Guest without having to log in.

Languages, Students

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. If this is your first time, click on "sign up" under the Log In area to create your account, or continue as a Guest without having to log in.

Languages, Students

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Health, Students

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Health, Students

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. 

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. 

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. 

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Search various Newport newspapers for articles and obituaries from 1784 - 1977.  More than 500 other New England newspapers are also available, including historical Fall River papers.  Use this in the library or at home.

Genealogy, Magazines-Newspapers

Search various Newport newspapers for articles and obituaries from 1784 - 1977.  More than 500 other New England newspapers are also available, including historical Fall River papers.  Use this in the library or at home.

Genealogy, Magazines-Newspapers

Recommended fiction reading lists for adults, teens and kids. Includes the most comprehensive guide to fiction series, author read-alikes, genre outlines, discussion guides, award lists & more.

Literature

Includes a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Covers hundreds of topics and includes an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

Students

Full text of popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).  Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, with easy-to-read entries written specifically for kids.

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Full text of popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).  Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, with easy-to-read entries written specifically for kids.

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Full text of popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).  Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, with easy-to-read entries written specifically for kids.

Childrens, Magazines-Newspapers, Students

Research Rhode Island history with the Providence Journal Collection, with coverage from 1829 through today, including the Evening Bulletin (1863-1981). Explore trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies, and more through full historical newspaper pages and current full-text articles. Available remotely 24/7 on any device at no cost. Brought to you by the RI Office of Library & Information Services and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.Requires a Rhode Island public library card number to access remotely.

Magazines-Newspapers

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Education

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Students

Udemy can help improve your career skills or further develop a personal interest with access to more than 4,000 continuously updated, on-demand video courses.  Explore the many options across 75 categories in business, technology, design, and more taught by world-class instructors.

Careers, Education

Udemy can help improve your career skills or further develop a personal interest with access to more than 4,000 continuously updated, on-demand video courses.  Explore the many options across 75 categories in business, technology, design, and more taught by world-class instructors.

Careers, Education

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

Encyclopedias, Students

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

Encyclopedias, Students