2658 East Main Road | Portsmouth, RI | 02871 | (401) 683-9457 | Hours

Childrens Events

Thursday, May 30
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for children age 3 and up!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Tuesday, June 04
10:30am - 11:00am
Story Time for babies aged 0-18 months! This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Wednesday, June 05
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for toddlers aged 18 months to 3 years!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, June 06
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for children age 3 and up!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Monday, June 10
9:00am - 8:00pm
Today is the day! Registration opens for all ages for our Summer Reading program. Adults and teens in rising grades 6-12 should go to the Reference Desk to sign up in person and receive their registration goodies (while supplies last). Children... Read More
Monday, June 17
10:00am - 10:30am
Sign-up begin on June 17th Summer reading book club "Lost Library" for grades 3-5.
Thursday, June 20
10:30am - 11:30am
Pokemon Club at the Portsmouth Library! Have cards at home but not sure how to play? Love playing and want to do it more? Head to library to learn and play with friends! This program is for grades K through 5! Parents are required to stay to... Read More
Tuesday, June 25
10:30am - 11:00am
Story Time for babies aged 0-18 months! This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, June 27
10:30am - 11:30am
Join Us for Puppet Storytime with Leigh Baltzer! Through Me To You Puppetry invites you to join Newton and the gang for Puppet Story Time! Newton and his puppet friends take turns reading stories... Read More
Wednesday, July 03
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for toddlers aged 18 months to 4 years!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Tuesday, July 09
10:30am - 11:00am
Story Time for babies aged 0-18 months! This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, July 11
10:30am - 11:30am
Pokemon Club at the Portsmouth Library! Have cards at home but not sure how to play? Love playing and want to do it more? Head to library to learn and play with friends! This program is for grades K through 5! Parents are required to stay to... Read More
Friday, July 12
10:30am - 11:30am
Performance by Circus Dynamics.  Watch as feats of juggling, tricks, comedy and much more are performed in this family friendly event.
Wednesday, July 17
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for toddlers aged 18 months to 4 years!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, July 18
10:30am - 11:30am
Registration will open on July 1! Rhode Island is home to nearly 40 species of reptiles and amphibians, also known as herps! You will be introduced to these scaly, slimy, and secretive creatures, the conservation work being done to protect them, and... Read More
Thursday, July 18
4:00pm - 5:00pm
Additional details to come! Grades 2 to 5  
Tuesday, July 23
10:30am - 11:00am
Story Time for babies aged 0-18 months! This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, July 25
10:30am - 11:00am
Coming soon!
Wednesday, July 31
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for toddlers aged 18 months to 4 years!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Thursday, August 01
10:30am - 11:30am
Pokemon Club at the Portsmouth Library! Have cards at home but not sure how to play? Love playing and want to do it more? Head to library to learn and play with friends! This program is for grades K through 5! Parents are required to stay to... Read More
Tuesday, August 06
10:30am - 11:00am
Story Time for babies aged 0-18 months! This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Friday, August 09
10:30am - 11:30am
Coming soon!
Tuesday, August 13
6:00pm - 7:00pm
Magic Show with Tommy James
Wednesday, August 14
10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime for toddlers aged 18 months to 4 years!  This storytime is a drop event; no registration is required.
Wednesday, August 14
3:30pm - 4:30pm
Summer Reading Book Club, Grades 3-5 More details to follow.
Thursday, August 15
4:00pm - 5:00pm
Additional details to come! Grades 2 to 5
Thursday, August 15
10:30am - 11:30am
Pokemon Club at the Portsmouth Library! Have cards at home but not sure how to play? Love playing and want to do it more? Head to library to learn and play with friends! This program is for grades K through 5! Parents are required to stay to... Read More
Friday, August 16
9:00am - 5:00pm
Today is the official last day of Summer Reading for our Kids, Tweens, and Teens.   Our Adult program ends August 31.